Events Diary
Warriors march to battle

From small to large, Regia Anglorum have a full calendar of events year after year. With groups the length and breadth of the United Kingdom, there is bound to be an event near you, where you can travel back across 1000 years of history.

Below is our calendar of events for this year, and any future ones we have confirmed. If you want to see where we have had shows over the years, visit our past events page.

You can add any event to your own diary by the menu in the top corner, most diary formats are supported. Unfortunately, we can't yet link in with paper diaries, but the calendar view might be more compatible.




Twelfth Night & Tree Planting
 
Saturday, 7th Jan 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Ticketed event, £12. Coppicing held during the day, discount for those who help.
Feast

Peebles National Training Weekend
Saturday, 21st Jan 2017
to
Sunday, 22nd Jan 2017
Done!
Haylodge Park, Royal Burgh of Peebles
Tweeddale EH45 8NN
Kailzie Bunkhouse is at EH45 9HT, £26/person for accommodation, limited beds.
Training

Horton-cum-Studley National Training Weekend
Saturday, 28th Jan 2017
to
Sunday, 29th Jan 2017
Done!
Horton-cum-Studley Millennium Hall
Oxfordshire OX33 1AE
Different venue for 2017. No village shop or pub. Table tennis tables are available for those with an interest. Note, local football team will be using the field before 10am on Saturday.
Training

Richmond Hill Winter Carnival
Saturday, 4th Feb 2017
to
Sunday, 5th Feb 2017
Done!
Richmond Hill
ON L4C 4B5
Canada
Joint show with Torvik
LNdH & Wynmerestow Local Show

Wychurst Coppicing Weekend
Saturday, 11th Feb 2017
to
Sunday, 12th Feb 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Also work to prepare the Bear for the Cardiff Bay sailing.
Work Weekend

Cardiff Bay Sailing
Saturday, 18th Feb 2017
to
Sunday, 19th Feb 2017
Done!
Cardiff
Sailing event, liaise with Maritime Officer if interested
Maritime Weekend

Meet the Vikings
Tuesday, 21st Feb 2017
to
Thursday, 23rd Feb 2017
Done!
York Minster, York
Yorkshire YO1 7HH
Handle weapons and artefacts; learn Viking games; discover Viking-age York Minster. Normal admission applies
Holderness Local Show

Jorvik Viking Festival
 
Saturday, 25th Feb 2017
Done!
York
Yorkshire YO1 9WT
This year is the last stand of Erik Bloodaxe
Major Event

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 11th Mar 2017
to
Sunday, 12th Mar 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
This could become another coppicing weekend if needed. Also a likely date for work on the Heron.
Work Weekend

Ashby-de-la-Zouch National Training Weekend
Saturday, 25th Mar 2017
to
Sunday, 26th Mar 2017
Done!
Willesley Scouting Centre
Leicestershire LE65 2UP
Training

Regia Anglorum Conference
Saturday, 1st Apr 2017
to
Sunday, 2nd Apr 2017
Done!
St Bridget’s Centre
West Kirby CH48 3JT
Conference

Pim Hill National Training Weekend
Sunday, 9th Apr 2017
to
Monday, 10th Apr 2017
Done!
Harmer Hill, Shrewsbury
Shropshire SY4 3DY
Training

Long Wychurst Work Weekend
Friday, 14th Apr 2017
to
Monday, 17th Apr 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Easter Work Weekend. Including working on the Heron.
Work Weekend

Sherwood Pines
Saturday, 22nd Apr 2017
to
Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017
Done!
Sherwood Pines
Nottinghamshire NG21 9JL
Major Event

May Day at Wychurst
Saturday, 29th Apr 2017
to
Monday, 1st May 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Fun weekend in kit doing whatever takes our fancy
Training

Beltaine Faire
 
Saturday, 29th Apr 2017
Done!
St Andrews
Fife KY16 9EW
Marr agus Fibh are guests at this show, hosted and run by The Shire of Caer Caledon of the University of St Andrews. Regia contacts are Louisa Sanderson and Caillin Campsie.
MaF Local Show

Llangwm Mediaeval Weekend
Saturday, 29th Apr 2017
to
Monday, 1st May 2017
Done!
Llangwm
Pembrokeshire SA62 4HT
Landsker Local Show

Friends of Ashton Park Fun Day
 
Monday, 1st May 2017
Done!
West Kirby
Wirral CH48 7EX
WSF Local Show

Wray Scarecrow Festival
 
Monday, 1st May 2017
Done!
Wray
Lancashire LA2 8RG
CdN Local Show

Kielder Water Sailing
Saturday, 13th May 2017
to
Sunday, 14th May 2017
Done!
Kielder Water
Northumberland NE48
Register interest with Maritime Officer for more information. No intended limit on numbers. Certain details TBC.
Maritime Weekend

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 13th May 2017
to
Sunday, 14th May 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
No Scout Hall - date subject to change
Work Weekend

Newark Castle Show: Capture of the Five Boroughs
Saturday, 27th May 2017
to
Monday, 29th May 2017
Done!
Newark-on-Trent
Nottinghamshire NG24 1BG
King Eadmund I against Anlaf Guthfrithson of York & Dublin, who had conquered the Five Boroughs of the Danelaw following the death of Æthelstan.
Major Event

Weald and Downland Living History Festival
Saturday, 3rd Jun 2017
to
Sunday, 4th Jun 2017
Done!
Singleton, Chichester
West Sussex PO18 0EU
Living history event with strict limit on reenactor numbers. Reenactor PoC: Helen Bowstead Stallybrass
Major Event

Markinch Show
 
Saturday, 10th Jun 2017
Done!
Markinch
Fife KY7 6DQ
LHE focus ecclesiastical show, with a training event the following day.
Din Eydin & MaF Local Show

Markinch Training Day
 
Sunday, 11th Jun 2017
Done!
Markinch
Fife KY7 6DQ
At the same site as the previous day’s show.
Training

Siege at Tickhill Castle
 
Sunday, 11th Jun 2017
Done!
Tickhill Castle, Doncaster
Yorkshire DN11 9QP
Afternoon show, closed training session in the morning.
Weorcmanna Local Show

King William Returns
Saturday, 17th Jun 2017
to
Sunday, 18th Jun 2017
Done!
Lincoln Castle
Lincolnshire LN1 3AA
An LHE representing the King’s retinue as he travels north for a bit of harrying. Lots of banners!
Major Event

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 17th Jun 2017
to
Sunday, 18th Jun 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Yeti-Con
Saturday, 17th Jun 2017
to
Sunday, 18th Jun 2017
Done!
The Blue Mountains
ON L9Y 3Z2
Canada
LNdH Local Show

Llangorse Lake Sailing
Saturday, 24th Jun 2017
to
Sunday, 25th Jun 2017
Done!
Llangorse
Brecon LD3 7TR
Register interest with Maritime Officer for more information. Possibly going to be a Training Weekend.
Maritime Weekend

Aurora Canada Day Show
 
Saturday, 1st Jul 2017
Done!
Lambert Wilson Park
Aurora ON L4G 4C4
Canada
LNdH Local Show

Siege of Cirencester
Saturday, 8th Jul 2017
to
Sunday, 9th Jul 2017
Done!
Gosditch, Cirencester
Gloucestershire GL7 2QU
King Stephen’s surprise attack on Empress Matilda’s garrison at Cirencester Castle.
Major Event

Kingsway School Fair
 
Tuesday, 11th Jul 2017
Done!
Wallasey
Merseyside CH44 9EU
WSF Local Show

Wychurst Pre-Show Work Weekend
Saturday, 15th Jul 2017
to
Sunday, 16th Jul 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
No Scout Hall; Preparing the site for the Wychurst Show 2 weeks later.
Work Weekend

Bamburgh Castle
Saturday, 15th Jul 2017
to
Sunday, 16th Jul 2017
Done!
Bamburgh
Northumberland NE69 7DF
In the grounds of Bamburgh Castle, LHE and Military displays.
SCL Local Show

Beacon Country Park Green Fayre
Saturday, 22nd Jul 2017
to
Sunday, 23rd Jul 2017
Done!
Upholland
Lancashire WN8 7RU
CdN & WSF Local Show

Wychurst Show
Saturday, 29th Jul 2017
to
Sunday, 30th Jul 2017
Done!
Herne Bay
Kent CT6 7LQ
Public access via Wildwood Discovery Park
Major Event

Skirmish at Brunanburh
 
Saturday, 29th Jul 2017
Done!
Bebington
Wirral CH63 5HP
Recreating a skirmish leading up to the Battle of Brunanburh, part of the Friends of Storten Woods Viking Day.
WSF Local Show

The Big Cheese - Caerphilly Castle
Saturday, 29th Jul 2017
to
Sunday, 30th Jul 2017
Done!
Caerphilly
Glamorgan CF83 3FB
YCB Local Show

Broadway Show
 
Saturday, 5th Aug 2017
Done!
Broadway
Worcestershire WR12 7AA
Hwicce Local Show

Thirsk Festival
 
Sunday, 6th Aug 2017
Done!
Thirsk
North Yorkshire YO7
Holderness Local Show

Wychurst Summer Camp
Saturday, 19th Aug 2017
to
Friday, 25th Aug 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Details to be confirmed closer to the event. Leading into the show at Detling.
Craft Week

Detling Military Odyssey
Saturday, 26th Aug 2017
to
Monday, 28th Aug 2017
Done!
Detling Showground
Kent ME14 3JF
Set in Scandinavia, the boat funeral of a great Norse chieftain.
Major Event

Woodplumpton and Catforth Summer Fête
 
Saturday, 2nd Sep 2017
Done!
Woodplumpton Village, Preston
Lancashire PR4 0LJ
CdN Local Show

Old Malton Mediaeval Day
 
Saturday, 9th Sep 2017
Done!
Old Malton, Rhydale
North Yorkshire YO17 7HB
Holderness Local Show

20th Anniversary Royal Mediaeval Faire
 
Saturday, 16th Sep 2017
Done!
Waterloo
ON N0B 2N0
Canada
Joint show with Wulfthorpe
LNdH Local Show

Detectival 2017
Saturday, 16th Sep 2017
to
Sunday, 17th Sep 2017
Done!
Langley, Burford
Oxfordshire OX29 9QB
Public access for ticket holders only; LHE oriented show with a few holmgang combat displays.
Hwitmearum Local Show

Northern Training Weekend
Saturday, 23rd Sep 2017
to
Sunday, 24th Sep 2017
Done!
Whickam Thorns Outdoor Activity Centre
Gateshead NE11 9NX
Training

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 23rd Sep 2017
to
Sunday, 24th Sep 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Festival of Fife
 
Saturday, 30th Sep 2017
Done!
Glenrothes
Fife KY7 5RA
Vikings and Scots
Din Eydin & MaF Local Show

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 7th Oct 2017
to
Sunday, 8th Oct 2017
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Bristol Castle
 
Saturday, 14th Oct 2017
Done!
Castle Park, Broad Weir
Bristol BS1 3XB
Major Event

Battle of Hastings
Saturday, 14th Oct 2017
to
Sunday, 15th Oct 2017
Done!
Battle
Sussex TN33 0AD
Major Event

World Museum Liverpool Viking Event
 
Saturday, 14th Oct 2017
Done!
Liverpool
L3 8EN
WSF Local Show

Saturday, 21st Oct 2017
to
Sunday, 22nd Oct 2017
Usk Castle
Monmouthshire NP15 1SD
Training

Saturday, 21st Oct 2017
to
Sunday, 22nd Oct 2017
Wood Green Animal Centre, Godmanchester
Huntingdonshire PE29 2NH
£2 Admission Fee
Visit Website
Market

Saturday, 28th Oct 2017
to
Sunday, 29th Oct 2017
Herne Bay
Kent CT6 7LQ
Access via Wildwood Discovery Park
ØC Local ShowKit guide

Saturday, 28th Oct 2017
to
Sunday, 29th Oct 2017
Brancepeth
County Durham DH7 8DF
£2.50 Admission Fee
Visit Website
Market

Saturday, 4th Nov 2017
to
Sunday, 5th Nov 2017
Wychurst
Kent
Possibly followed by Bonfire Night celebrations
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 4th Nov 2017
to
Sunday, 5th Nov 2017
Buckinghamshire Railway Centre
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire HP22 4BY
£3 Admission Fee
Visit Website
Market

Friday, 10th Nov 2017
to
Sunday, 12th Nov 2017
Sports Connexion, Ryton-on-Dunsmore
Warwickshire CV8 3FL
£4.50 Admission Fee
Visit Website
Market

Saturday, 18th Nov 2017
to
Sunday, 19th Nov 2017
Cowshill, Bishop Auckland
County Durham DL13 1DQ
Liz and Richard are hosting this Music Weekend, contact them for further information.
Music Weekend

 
Saturday, 25th Nov 2017
Birmingham
AGM

————————2018————————
Saturday, 6th Jan 2018
to
Sunday, 7th Jan 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Saturday, 20th Jan 2018
to
Sunday, 21st Jan 2018
Haylodge Park, Royal Burgh of Peebles
Tweeddale EH45 8NN
Kailzie Bunkhouse is at EH45 9HT, limited beds. PoC: Rob Leeson
Training

Saturday, 27th Jan 2018
to
Sunday, 28th Jan 2018
Islip
Oxfordshire OX5 2TA
Back at Islip in 2018
Training

Saturday, 10th Feb 2018
to
Sunday, 11th Feb 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

 
Saturday, 17th Feb 2018
York
Yorkshire YO1 9WT
Major EventKit guide

Saturday, 10th Mar 2018
to
Sunday, 11th Mar 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 7th Apr 2018
to
Sunday, 8th Apr 2018
Lichfield Cathedral College Hall
Staffordshire WS13 7LD
Conference

Saturday, 14th Apr 2018
to
Sunday, 15th Apr 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 14th Apr 2018
to
Sunday, 15th Apr 2018
Braintree
Essex CM77 8PD
£8 admission fee; £5 with membership book
Visit Website
Market

Saturday, 5th May 2018
to
Monday, 7th May 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Placeholder for likely event, dependant on other bookings. All details TBC.
TBC

 
Monday, 7th May 2018
Wray
Lancashire LA2 8RG
CdN Local ShowKit guide

Saturday, 12th May 2018
to
Sunday, 13th May 2018
Sherwood Pines
Nottinghamshire NG21 9JL
Major Event

Saturday, 26th May 2018
to
Monday, 28th May 2018
Newark-on-Trent
Nottinghamshire NG24 1BG
Major EventKit guide

 
Sunday, 10th Jun 2018
Sheffield
Yorkshire S2 1UL
WMG Local ShowKit guide

Saturday, 16th Jun 2018
to
Sunday, 17th Jun 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

 
Saturday, 16th Jun 2018
Tawd Vale Campsite, Lathom
Lancashire L40 5UL
CdN Local ShowKit guide

Saturday, 28th Jul 2018
to
Monday, 13th Aug 2018
Dates TBC. Dependant on interest - register your interest ASAP with Maritime Officer. Intended destinations are museums and boats in Norway, Sweden and Denmark.
Foreign Maritime Study Tour

Saturday, 28th Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 29th Jul 2018
Bamburgh
Northumberland NE69 7DF
Event in the grounds of Bamburgh Castle with strict limit on reenactor numbers. Reenactor PoC: Tony Peel.
SCL Local ShowKit guide

Saturday, 18th Aug 2018
to
Friday, 24th Aug 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 13th Oct 2018
to
Sunday, 14th Oct 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 3rd Nov 2018
to
Sunday, 4th Nov 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Perhaps with fireworks in the evening.
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist


© Regia Anglorum MCMLXXXVI – MMXVII