Events Diary
Warriors march to battle

From small to large, Regia Anglorum have a full calendar of events year after year. With groups the length and breadth of the United Kingdom, there is bound to be an event near you, where you can travel back across 1000 years of history.

Below is our calendar of events for this year, and any future ones we have confirmed. If you want to see where we have had shows over the years, visit our past events page.

You can add any event to your own diary by the menu in the top corner, most diary formats are supported. Unfortunately, we can't yet link in with paper diaries, but the calendar view might be more compatible.




Wychurst Coppicing Weekend and Twelfth Night
Saturday, 6th Jan 2018
to
Sunday, 7th Jan 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Peebles National Training Weekend
Saturday, 20th Jan 2018
to
Sunday, 21st Jan 2018
Done!
Haylodge Park, Royal Burgh of Peebles
Tweeddale EH45 8NN
Kailzie Bunkhouse is at EH45 9HT, limited beds. PoC: Rob Leeson
Training

Islip National Training Weekend
Saturday, 27th Jan 2018
to
Sunday, 28th Jan 2018
Done!
Islip
Oxfordshire OX5 2TA
Back at Islip in 2018
Training

Sailing in Cardiff Bay
Saturday, 3rd Feb 2018
to
Sunday, 4th Feb 2018
Done!
Cardiff
Sailing event, liaise with Maritime Officer if interested
Maritime Weekend

Richmond Hill Winter Carnival
Saturday, 3rd Feb 2018
to
Sunday, 4th Feb 2018
Done!
321 Mill St
Richmond Hill, ON L4C 4B5
Canada
LNdH Local Show

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 10th Feb 2018
to
Sunday, 11th Feb 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Meet the Vikings
 
Thursday, 15th Feb 2018
Done!
York Minster, York
Yorkshire YO1 7HH
Holderness Local Show

Jorvik Viking Festival
 
Saturday, 17th Feb 2018
Done!
York
Yorkshire YO1 9WT
This year with a boat on the water
Major Event

Boat Repair, Kit Making and Training
 
Saturday, 10th Mar 2018
Done!
Yorkshire Museum of Farming, Murton Park
Yorkshire YO19 5UF
Training and Work Weekend

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 10th Mar 2018
to
Sunday, 11th Mar 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Ashby-de-la-Zouch National Training Weekend
Saturday, 24th Mar 2018
to
Sunday, 25th Mar 2018
Done!
Willesley Scouting Centre
Leicestershire LE65 2UP
Training

Kielder Water Intensive Sailing
Friday, 30th Mar 2018
to
Monday, 2nd Apr 2018
Done!
Kielder Water
Northumberland NE48
Experienced crew only. This is an intensive training event for upcoming skippers and mates. Contact Maritime Officer if interested.
Maritime Weekend

British Museum Vikings Tour
Saturday, 31st Mar 2018
to
Sunday, 1st Apr 2018
Done!
The Atkinson
Southport PR8 1DB
WSF Local Show

Regia Anglorum Conference
Saturday, 7th Apr 2018
to
Sunday, 8th Apr 2018
Done!
Lichfield Cathedral College Hall
Staffordshire WS13 7LD
Conference

Kielder Water Sailing
Saturday, 14th Apr 2018
to
Sunday, 15th Apr 2018
Done!
Kielder Water
Northumberland ME48
Sailing, fighting and crafting weekend. Lots to do on the water and on shore.
Maritime Weekend

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 14th Apr 2018
to
Sunday, 15th Apr 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

The Bear in Escanceaster
Saturday, 21st Apr 2018
to
Sunday, 22nd Apr 2018
Done!
Exeter
Devon EX1
Show centred around the Bear. No LHE or combat, boat crew and support only.
Maritime Show

Old Malton Mediaeval Day
 
Saturday, 28th Apr 2018
Done!
Old Malton Priory Church, Ryedale
North Yorkshire YO17 7HB
Holderness Local Show

Beltaine Mediaeval Fayre
 
Saturday, 5th May 2018
Done!
St Andrews
Fife KY16 9EJ
Regia are joining the Shire of Caer Caledon for their show
MaF Local Show

Owen Sound Mini Comicon
 
Saturday, 5th May 2018
Done!
824 1st Ave W
Owen Sound, ON N4K 4K4
Canada
LNdH Local Show

Walesby Scout Event
 
Sunday, 6th May 2018
Done!
Walesby Forest Campsite
Nottinghamshire NG22 9NG
2pm-5pm LHE, including an armoury, scout event
CdV Local Show

Ashton Park Open Day
 
Monday, 7th May 2018
Done!
Ashton Park, West Kirby
Wirral CH48 7EX
WSF Local Show

Wray Scarecrow Festival
 
Monday, 7th May 2018
Done!
Wray
Lancashire LA2 8RG
CdN Local Show

Sherwood Viking Spring Thing
Saturday, 12th May 2018
to
Sunday, 13th May 2018
Done!
Sherwood Pines
Nottinghamshire NG21 9JL
Major Event

Norwegian Constitution Day
 
Saturday, 12th May 2018
Done!
875 Dufferin Street, Toronto
Ontario M6H 4J3
Canada
Wynmerestow Local Show

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 26th May 2018
to
Sunday, 27th May 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Work Weekend

Siege of Newark Castle
Saturday, 26th May 2018
to
Monday, 28th May 2018
Done!
Newark-on-Trent
Nottinghamshire NG24 1BG
Major Event

Alisa Craig Quilting Festival
 
Saturday, 26th May 2018
Done!
Alisa Craig
Ontario N0M 1A0
Canada
Wynmerestow Local Show

Weald and Downland Living History Festival
Saturday, 2nd Jun 2018
to
Sunday, 3rd Jun 2018
Done!
Singleton, Chichester
West Sussex PO18 0EU
LHE only event, with one of the smaller boats. Strict limit on reenactor numbers. Reenactor PoC: Roland Williamson.
Major Event

Death of the Lady Æthelflæd
Saturday, 9th Jun 2018
to
Sunday, 10th Jun 2018
Done!
St Oswald’s Priory, Gloucester
Gloucestershire GL1 2QX
Parade. Funeral procession of the Lady Æthelflæd from the dockside to the priory. Ecclesiastical, LHE, maritime and some military elements.
Major Event

Blacon Living History Festival
 
Saturday, 9th Jun 2018
Done!
Blacon School
Chester CH41 5JH
WSF Local Show

History Through the Ages
 
Sunday, 10th Jun 2018
Done!
Sheffield
Yorkshire S2 1UL
Suðrjorvik Local Show

Langfjorðs Sliehtwulfas Hosted Training
 
Sunday, 10th Jun 2018
Done!
Cressing Temple Barns
Essex CM77 8PD
Training in a large open field, café and parking available. All of Regia welcome to attend.
Training

Wychurst Work Weekend
Saturday, 16th Jun 2018
to
Sunday, 17th Jun 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
No scout hall. The dates of this work weekend are likely to change.
Work Weekend

Merseyside County Cub Camp
 
Saturday, 16th Jun 2018
Done!
Tawd Vale Campsite, Lathom
Lancashire L40 5UL
CdN Local Show

Scandinavian Hjemkomst and Midwest Viking Festival
Friday, 22nd Jun 2018
to
Saturday, 23rd Jun 2018
Done!
Hjemkomst Center
Moorhead MN 56560
United States
Árhrafnar are joining other groups at this 40+ year-old event
Árhrafnar Local Show

Chichester Harbour Sailing
Saturday, 23rd Jun 2018
to
Sunday, 24th Jun 2018
Done!
Chichester Marina, Birdham, Chichester
West Sussex PO20 7EJ
Sailing event, liaise with Maritime Officer if interested, only going ahead if enough people available on both days.
Maritime Weekend

Wychurst at War
Saturday, 30th Jun 2018
to
Sunday, 1st Jul 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
Training

Aurora Canada Day Show
 
Sunday, 1st Jul 2018
Done!
Aurora
ON L4G 4C4
Canada
LNdH Local Show

Wessex Scout Fête
 
Saturday, 7th Jul 2018
Done!
Headley Park
South Bristol BS13 7QB
Portraying Saxons and Vikings.
Wessex and Hwicce Local Show

Preparing for battle at Lancaster Castle
Saturday, 7th Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 8th Jul 2018
Done!
Lancaster Castle
Lancashire LA1 1YJ
CdN Local Show

Normans at Bishops Stortford
 
Saturday, 14th Jul 2018
Done!
Waytemore Castle Gardens, Bishops Stortford
Hertfordshire CM23 2AY
Small Norman period one-day show at Waytemore Castle.
Major Event

Festival of Archaeology (Ashmolean)
Saturday, 21st Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 22nd Jul 2018
Done!
Ashmolean Museum
Oxfordshire OX1 2PH
Anglo-Saxon focus.
Major Event

Defending the Border
Saturday, 21st Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 22nd Jul 2018
Done!
Berwick-upon-Tweed
Northumberland TD15 1DF
Multi-period show, Regia covering 1018 to the turn of the 13th century.
SCL & Din Eidyn Local Show

Green Fayre
Saturday, 21st Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 22nd Jul 2018
Done!
Beacon Country Park, Upholland
Lancashire WN8 7RU
CdN & WSF Local Show

Wychurst Show
Saturday, 28th Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 29th Jul 2018
Done!
Herne Bay
Kent CT6 7LQ
Public access via Wildwood Discovery Park only.
Major Event

Bamburgh Castle
Saturday, 28th Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 29th Jul 2018
Done!
Bamburgh
Northumberland NE69 7DF
Event in the grounds of Bamburgh Castle with strict limit on reenactor numbers. Reenactor PoC: Tony Peel.
SCL Local Show

The Big Cheese - Caerphilly Castle
Saturday, 28th Jul 2018
to
Sunday, 29th Jul 2018
Done!
Caerphilly Castle
Glamorgan CF83 3FB
Setup and on-site camping from 27th. Covering a range of Welsh history, datelines of 1050 to 1080.
YCB Local Show

Scandinavian Study Tour
Friday, 3rd Aug 2018
to
Monday, 13th Aug 2018
Done!
Dependant on interest - register your interest ASAP with Maritime Officer. Intended destinations are museums and boats in Norway, Sweden and Denmark.
Foreign Maritime Study Tour

World Museum Liverpool
 
Sunday, 5th Aug 2018
Done!
World Museum Liverpool
Liverpool L3 8EN
WSF Local Show

Perth Mediaeval Fayre
 
Saturday, 11th Aug 2018
Done!
Perth
Perthshire PH1 5TZ
The life and times of the people who fought in the Battle of Strathearn.
Alba Local Show

Lost Castles of Ashton Park
Saturday, 11th Aug 2018
to
Sunday, 12th Aug 2018
Done!
Ashton Park
West Kirby CH48 7EX
WSF Local Show

Wychurst Craft Week
Saturday, 18th Aug 2018
to
Friday, 24th Aug 2018
Done!
Wychurst
Kent
"Pay-as-you-dine" arrangement for food, lots of crafts going on - kit making, embroidery, nålbinding, woodwork, smithing, spoon carving, bowl hewing, longing around.
Craft Week

Detling Military Odyssey
Saturday, 25th Aug 2018
to
Monday, 27th Aug 2018
Done!
Detling
Kent ME14 3JF
Regia will be reenacting elements of the Battle of Clontarf.
Major Event

Hastings Medieval Festival
Saturday, 1st Sep 2018
to
Sunday, 2nd Sep 2018
Done!
Hastings
ON K0L 1Y0
Canada
Joint show with Torvik and Wulfthorpe
LNdH Local Show

Rotherham Show
 
Saturday, 8th Sep 2018
Done!
Rotherham
South Yorkshire S65 2BH
Suðrjorvik Local Show

Picts in the Park
 
Sunday, 9th Sep 2018
Done!
Dunkeld
Perthshire PH8 0AR
Picts vs Vikings
Galweg Local Show

Llangorse Lake Sailing
Saturday, 15th Sep 2018
to
Sunday, 16th Sep 2018
Done!
Llangorse
Brecon LD3 7TR
Training weekend with both battlefield for land combat and lake for sailing the Bear.
Training

Royal Medieval Faire
 
Saturday, 15th Sep 2018
Done!
Waterloo Park West
Waterloo ON N2L 2Z4
Canada
Joint show with Torvik and Wulfthorpe
LNdH Local Show

Detectival 2018
Saturday, 15th Sep 2018
to
Sunday, 16th Sep 2018
Done!
Oxfordshire
Public access for ticket holders only; LHE oriented show with some combat displays.
Hwitmearum Local Show

Saturday, 22nd Sep 2018
to
Sunday, 23rd Sep 2018
Herne Bay
Kent CT6 7LQ
English v Normans
Major EventKit guide

Wednesday, 26th Sep 2018
to
Saturday, 29th Sep 2018
Scandinavian Heritage Park
Minot ND 58701
United States
Árhrafnar are joining others at this multi-group event
Árhrafnar Local Show

Saturday, 29th Sep 2018
to
Sunday, 30th Sep 2018
Whickham Thorns Outdoor Activity Centre
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear NE11 9UX
Training

 
Saturday, 6th Oct 2018
Pleshey Village Hall
Essex CM3 1HA
LFSW Local ShowKit guide

Saturday, 13th Oct 2018
to
Sunday, 14th Oct 2018
Battle Abbey
Battle TN33 0AD
Reenactors wanting to take part (military or civilian), make yourselves known to Claire Collier ASAP, include whether you are a combatant and whether you are camping authentically or in plastic.
Visit Website
Major EventKit guide

Friday, 19th Oct 2018
to
Sunday, 21st Oct 2018
Oystermouth Castle
Swansea SA3 4BA
This years "Usk" is in Oystermouth Castle near Swansea. Accommodation is at St Phillip’s Hall in Swansea Town Centre (SA1 3QT), 10-15 minutes drive away from the castle.
Training

Saturday, 20th Oct 2018
to
Monday, 22nd Oct 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 3rd Nov 2018
to
Sunday, 4th Nov 2018
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Friday, 16th Nov 2018
to
Sunday, 18th Nov 2018
Sports Connexion, Ryton-on-Dunsmore
Warwickshire CV8 3FL
£4.50 Admission Fee
Market

 
Saturday, 24th Nov 2018
Smethwick
AGM

————————2019————————
Saturday, 5th Jan 2019
to
Sunday, 6th Jan 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 26th Jan 2019
to
Sunday, 27th Jan 2019
Islip
Oxfordshire OX5 2TA
Training

Friday, 1st Feb 2019
to
Sunday, 3rd Feb 2019
Kailzie, Cardrona
Tweeddale EH45 9HT
£40/person for accommodation, limited beds.
Training

Saturday, 9th Feb 2019
to
Sunday, 10th Feb 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 9th Mar 2019
to
Sunday, 10th Mar 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 13th Apr 2019
to
Sunday, 14th Apr 2019
Cressing Temple Barns, Braintree
Essex CM77 8PD
£8 entry price (£15 for both days). Discounts available if tickets bought early or if proof of membership provided. Note that this is the same location as the Langfjorðs’ hosted training events.
Visit Website
Market

Saturday, 27th Apr 2019
to
Sunday, 28th Apr 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 11th May 2019
to
Sunday, 12th May 2019
Sherwood Pines
Nottinghamshire NG21 9JL
Major Event

Saturday, 15th Jun 2019
to
Sunday, 16th Jun 2019
Wychurst
Kent
The second annual training event at Wychurst, this time we will have access to the scout hall.
Training

Saturday, 27th Jul 2019
to
Sunday, 28th Jul 2019
Herne Common, Herne Bay
Kent CT6 7LQ
Public access via the Wildwood Trust wildlife park. No scout hall accommodation for reenactors.
Major Event

Saturday, 27th Jul 2019
to
Sunday, 28th Jul 2019
Caerphilly Castle
Glamorgan CF83 3FB
YCB Local ShowKit guide

Sunday, 18th Aug 2019
to
Friday, 23rd Aug 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Note: this year’s craft week starts on a Sunday.
Craft Week

Saturday, 14th Sep 2019
to
Sunday, 15th Sep 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 5th Oct 2019
to
Sunday, 6th Oct 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist

Saturday, 2nd Nov 2019
to
Sunday, 3rd Nov 2019
Wychurst
Kent
Work WeekendWychurst Checklist


© Regia Anglorum MCMLXXXVI – MMXVIII